Novels nominated for Maria Thomas Fiction Award — 2016


Novels published in 2016

antonia-sawTHE MARIA THOMAS FICTION AWARD, first presented in 1990, is named after the novelist Maria Thomas [Roberta Worrick (Ethiopia 1971–73)] who was the author of the well-reviewed novel Antonia Saw the Oryx First, and two collections of short stories, Come to Africa and Save Your Marriage: And Other Stories and African Visas: A Novella and Stories, all set in Africa.

Roberta lost her life in August 1989, while working in Ethiopia for a relief agency. She went down in the plane crash that also killed her husband, Thomas Worrick (Ethiopia 1971–73), and Congressman Mickey Leland of Texas

These novels have been nominated for the 2016 Award. If you know of a book that you wish to nominated — published in 2016 — and written by an RPCV or Peace Corps Staff, please let me know:

The nominees:

The Girl in the Glyphs: A Novel
David C. Edmonds (Chile 1963-65)
A Peace Corps Writers Book
January 5, 2016

American Sahib
Eddie James Girdner (India 1968–70)
(a Peace Corps novel)
March 2016
426 pages

Two Pumps for the Body Man
by B.A. East (Malawi 1996–98)
New Pulp Press
March 2016

Blood Upon The Snow (A Novel of the American Revolution)
Martin R. Ganzglass (Somalia 1966–68)
A Peace Corps Writers Book
March, 2016

Visions of a Lost and Future World
Jane Stillwater (South Africa 2007)
May 2016

Judenstaat: A Novel
Simone Zelitch (Hungary 1991–93)
Tor Books
June 2016

[historical fiction]
Jack Britton Sullivan (Guatemala 1993–96)
September, 2o16

KMEDJZIK: Charles & Louise, Book 2
by Woody Starkweather (Kazakhstan 2004–06)
Birch Tree Books
November 2016
229 pages



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2022. Peace Corps Worldwide.