Two New Mexico RPCV Writers Win Book Awards for 2010

The purpose of the New Mexico Book Awards is to honor great books from New Mexico and the Southwest. Each year, the New Mexico Book Awards Program honors special New Mexico authors for their special contributions to New Mexico’s book community. In 2010, the New Mexico Book Awards presented awards to two RPCV writers. They are, (and congratulations to you both!):

ghost-of-milagro-creekFor Novel — adventure or drama
Melanie Sumner (Senegal 1988-90) for The Ghost of Milagro Creek published by
Algonquin Books


la-ranfaFiction, Other
Martha Egan (Venezuela 1967-69) for La Ranfla & Other New Mexico Stories published by
Papalote Press

One Comment

Leave a comment
  • I was delighted to read and review Martha Egan’s book for PeaceCorpsWorldWide. She totally deserves this award and I congratulate her!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2022. Peace Corps Worldwide.