First National Advisory Council To The Peace Corps

[Jim Sheahan (Sierra Leone 1963-65) was kind enough to send me this list of the first National Advisory Council to the Peace Corps. I thought you’d like to see who what was where when.]

Honorary Chairman
The Honorable William O. Douglas, Associate Justice I
Supreme Court, United States
The Honorable Lyndon B. Johnson, Vice President, United
Vice Chairman
Dr. Mary Bunting, President, Radcliffe College
David E. Lilienthal, Chairman, Development and Resources
Rev. James Robinson, Director, Operation Crossroads Africa
Thomas J. Watson, Jr., President, IBM Corp.
Dr. Leona Baumgartner, Comm. of Health, New York City
Joseph Beirne, President, Communications Workers of
Harry Belafonte, New York City
Rev. William Sloan Coffin, Chaplain, Yale University
LeRoy Collins, President, Natl. Assn. of Broadcasters
Rev. John J. Considine, M.M., Director, Latin America
Bureau National Catholic Welfare Conference
Colonel Henry Crown, General Dynamics Corp.
Dr. Albert Dent, President. Dillard University
Dr. John Fischer, Dean, Teachers College, Columbia Univ.
1. Peter Grace, President, W. R. Grace & Co.
Cornelius J. Haggerty, President, Building Trades Council,
Mrs. Oveta Culp Hobby, President, Houston Post
E. Palmer Hoyt, Publisher, Denver Post
Mrs. Robert E. Kintner, New York City
Murray D. Lincoln, Chairman, CARE, Inc.
Frederick R. Mann, Secy. of Commerce, City of Philadelphia
Dr. Benjamin E. Mays, President, Morehouse College
Dr. James A. McCain, President, Kansas State College
Franklin Murphy, Chancellor, Univ. of Calif. at Los Angeles
Mrs. E. Lee Ozbirn, International President, General Federation
of Women’s Clubs
Rev. Clarence E. Pickett, Executive Secretary, American
Friends Service Committee
Roger Revelle, Director, Scripps Inst. of Oceanography
John D. Rockefeller IV, Harvard University
Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt, Hyde Park, New York
Eugene V. Rostow, Dean, Yale Law School
George L. Sanches, Dept. of History, Univ. of Texas .
James Scott, U.S. National Student Association
Joseph Beirne, President, Communications Workers of
America and Vice President, AFL-CIO
Roger W. Jones, Under Secretary of State for Administration
Ralph Lazarus, President, Federated Department Stores
Dr. Benjamin C. Willis, President, American Association
of School Administrators


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Copyright © 2022. Peace Corps Worldwide.