To further fulfill its goals to encourage, recognize and promote Peace Corps writers, RPCV Writers & Readers, the newsletter that was the precursor of and, presented their first annual awards for outstanding writing in 1990. Awards have been given each year since then. When possible, they are presented at the RPCV Conference Awards Ceremony.

The awards are:

The Paul Cowan Non-Fiction Award

The Maria Thomas Fiction Award

The Award for Best Poetry Book

The Award for Best Travel Book

The Award for Best Children’s Book

The Moritz Thomsen Peace Corps Experience Award

The Award for Best Photography Book

Other Awards

NOTE: Awards given in any year are for books published the previous year.