Archive - March 14, 2018

1
Remembering Moritz Thomsen (Ecuador)
2
Looking for a magazine or website to publish your fiction, nonfiction, poetry?

Remembering Moritz Thomsen (Ecuador)

Back in 1990, shortly before his death from cholera, I interviewed Moritz for then newsletter, Peace Corps Writers & Readers. Moritz who had been a PCV in Ecuador from 1965-67, had written three books, all about his time in Latin America. Many consider his book Living Poor the best written account of the Peace Corps experience. When he emailed me he was living at Casilla 362, Guayaquil, Educador Here is what Moritz wrote me, responding to one of my questions. Moritz, you are an example of a Peace Corps Volunteer who has never come home. From your books we know your “history” over these last twenty-five years or so, but is there another reason—perhaps a mystical reason—that has kept you in Latin America. No, no mystical reasons for staying in South America. In my younger years I was very often the kid who was the last to leave the party, . . .

Read More

Looking for a magazine or website to publish your fiction, nonfiction, poetry?

  Thanks to a “heads up” from Mark Jacobs (Paraguay 1978-80) •  NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more. Check it out. Also check out these fifty (plus)publications. All the magazines listed below have published essays that appeared in the Table of Contents or the Notable Essays section of the annual anthology BEST AMERICAN ESSAYS. The Georgia Review Established 1947  The American Scholar www.theamericanscholar.org/ The Gettysburg Review http://www.gettysburgreview.com Creative Nonfiction http://www.creativenonfiction.org Prairie Schooner Established: 1926 http://prairieschooner.unl.edu/ The Missouri Review Established: 1978 http://www.missourireview.org River Teeth http://static.ashland.edu//riverteeth/ Tin House http://www.tinhouse.com/index.htm Fourth Genre a journal of creative nonfiction a href=”http://msupress.msu.edu/journals/fg/”> Orion special emphasis on writing about nature/environment http://www.orionmagazine.org/ Image writing about spirituality & the arts www.imagejournal.org Agni Boston University http://www.bu.edu/agni/index.html Granta http://www.granta.com/ The Antioch Review founded 1941 http://antiochcollege.org/antioch_review.html Bellevue Literary Review Special emphasis on illness/health http://www.blreview.org/ The Kenyon . . .

Read More

Copyright © 2016. Peace Corps Worldwide.